Motor Vehicle Registration Information

  • Registration and Renewal
    Florida uses a metal license plate with alpha numeric letters and numbers for identification. A sticker denoting the owner's birth month and the year of expiration is placed in the upper right hand corner of the plate. License plates are to be displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the tenth year.

    All vehicles are registered according to weight. Travel trailers and mobile homes are licensed according to length. Vehicles are registered according to the registered owner's birth month. The registration expires at midnight on the owner's birthday. Company owned vehicles and short term leased vehicles expire June 30th. Long term leased vehicles expire on the registered owner's birthday. Truck-tractors, semi-trailers, and trucks weighing over 5000 pounds expire on December 31. High Occupancy Vehicles (HOV) are vehicles used to transport nine or more passengers. HOVs expire December 31st

    • Online Renewals
  • Proof of Insurance
    Proof of current insurance (binder, policy or card) from a certified Florida agent or broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. Insurance must be presented to the Tax Collector to include documentation of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) in the amount of at least $10,000 and Protection Damage Liability (PDL) insurance in the amount of $10,000. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement. Commercial trucks require additional insurance.
  • Renewing your Registration by Mail
    Reminder notices are mailed out approximately 30 days before your expiration date as a courtesy. In order to save time and money we encourage owners to renew by mail. Renewal notices are mailed by the Tax Collector as a courtesy only, late penalties and other fees will not be waived because of non receipt of a renewal notice.
  • Change of Address
    In order to maintain accurate records, and to help ensure that each registered owner receives a renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported to the Tax Collector's Office within 20 days. The vehicle owner is required to provide the license plate number along with the address change report. It is the responsibility of each registered owner to ensure that the vehicle's registration is kept current. Notices are mailed as a courtesy service only and to help facilitate the renewal process.
  • Vehicle Identification Numbers
    All motor vehicles being registered in Florida for the first time must have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified. The Tax Collector's Office will perform this service at the time of registration. The VIN can also be verified by any law enforcement officer, a Florida notary public or a Florida motor vehicle dealer. All used vehicles coming into Florida from a foreign country must have the VIN verified by a DMV compliance Examiner/Inspector prior to being titled.
  • Rates
    Annual license taxes, for the operation of motor vehicles as defined by Florida Statutes, must be paid at the time of registration and renewal. All fees are subject to change by Legislative Act.
  • Initial Registration Fee
    Annual license taxes, for the operation of motor vehicles as defined by Florida Statutes, must be paid at the time of registration and renewal. All fees are subject to change by Legislative Act.
  • Florida Vehicle Titles
    To transfer a Florida Title, the seller must complete the transfer information on the current title, including the purchaser's name, the selling price, and the odometer reading at the time of the sale. A bill of sale may be submitted for proof of purchase price. Sales tax will be collected if applicable. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the seller or a $10.00 fee is levied at the time of transfer.
  • Out-of-State Titles
    An out-of-state title must be submitted as proof of ownership and if transfer of ownership is involved, it must be properly assigned indicating the new owner's name and address. An application for Florida Title must be completed and accompanied by verification of the Vehicle Identification Number and odometer reading (DHSMV Form 82040). The owner(s) or purchaser(s) must sign this form or give power of attorney. Sales tax will be collected if applicable.
  • New Vehicle Titles
    All new vehicles are required to have a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) which must be signed and notarized by a licensed dealer for transfer to the buyer. To obtain a Florida title, the MCO must be filled out completely and attached to the title application form (DHSMV Form 82040). The information must include the owner's complete name and Florida address, date of birth, sex, drivers license number, a complete description of the vehicle and any lien to be recorded. Sales tax will be collected if applicable. The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer reading must both be verified by a law enforcement officer or a Florida commissioned notary public. If a license plate is being transferred onto the new vehicle, proof of insurance and registration is required.